Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero: Citations and bibliographies

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, manage, cite, and share research sources.

Add a citation

Cite as you work to save time. With Zotero citing, adding footnotes and endnotes as you write is done in a simple way.

First, make sure that your Word program has the Zotero tab correctly installed. If you installed Zotero and the Word tab does not appear please contact the Library. 

When adding a citation, click on the Add/Edit Citation button. 

The Document Preferences box will pop up. Select the citation style of your preference. 

A search box will appear. Look up the document you'd like to cite. Start typing part of a title, the last names of one or more authors, and/or a year in the dialog box. Matching items will instantly appear below the dialog box.

Matching items will be shown for each library in your Zotero database (My Library and any groups you are part of). Items you have already cited in the document will be shown at the top of the list under “Cited”.

After adding all citations, you just need to click on "Add/Edit Bibliography" and all your references will be listed in the selected style. 

Create a Bibliography

Creating Bibliographies is simple. If you've been using the Zotero tab in Word to add citations, just click on the "Add/Edit Bibliography" button and all your references will be listed in the selected style. 

Also, you can just select the items of interest from Zotero, right-click and select "Create Bibliography from Items". Select the style and the output method and your Bibliography is ready.

 

Citation Styles

Find the citation style you need. Over nice thousand styles are available in the Zotero Style Repository. 

Hover over the style to see how it looks. Click on it to add it to your Zotero. 

Disclaimer: The contents and links referenced in this guide are provided only for information and do not constitute policies, recommendations or opinions of the ILO.